• SBA Announces Hawaii’s 2022 Top Small Business Winners

    April 27, 2022
    Celebrate National Small Business Week- May 1 to 7, 2022
    The annual SBA Small Business Awards for Hawaii will be presented to an impressive roster of top performing, savvy small business owners and small business advocates at a ceremony and pau hana celebration on May 6, 2022, at the YWCA of Oahu from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. Fourteen award winners will be honored during this event for their achievements and contributions to the vitality of our local economy.
    For information on tickets for this prestigious event, contact Amber Coustsos, Office Manager at the Maui Chamber of Commerce, the Co-Sponsor of this recognition event. Please email her at officemgr@mauichamber.com for details.
    The Small Business Person of the Year Award recognizes staying power, increases in revenues and sales, job creation, response to adversity and innovation in small business operations, products or services as well as commitment to their community.
    Scott Loomer, President of Truss Systems Hawaii, Inc. of Puunene, Maui, has been selected as the 2022 Small Business Person of the Year for the State of Hawaii by the U.S. Small Business Administration Hawaii-Pacific Islands District Office. Truss Systems Hawaii, Inc. will represent the State of Hawaii in Washington, D.C. via a virtual celebration of National Small Business Week (sba.gov) beginning on May 1-7th.
    In addition to State of Hawaii winner Truss Systems Hawaii, Inc., the top small business owners representing the counties include:
    • County of Maui: Lynn Nalani Solu - Kihei Rent-A-Car
    • County of Hawaii: Timothy & Sandra Heaton - Gypsea Gelato
    • County of Honolulu: Erin Kanno Uehara - Choco le’a
    The SBA Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award goes to individuals who have shown the likelihood of success during a minimum of three years of operation and ownership of a small business before reaching the age of 35 and demonstrates increasing sales and job opportunities.
    • State of Hawaii: Rennell Saro & Danielle Hawxhurst - Kona Crust
    The Family-Owned Small Business of the Year Award goes to small business owners who have continued to operate a going concern that is at least 15 years old and have transferred a portion of ownership from one family member to another and integrated family members in a variety of employment roles and opportunities.
    • State of Hawaii: Ronald Anthony Rodrigues - Commercial Tire Source, Inc.
    • County of Kauai: Lori Koga - M Tanaka Store Inc., dba Tanaka Hardware
    Women-Owned Business of the Year: A women-owned small business owner who has experienced the rewards and difficulties of owning their own business
    • State of Hawaii: Ahu Hettema – Istanbul Restaurant
    • County of Maui: Mitzi & Joey Toro – The Maui Cookie Lady
    • County of Honolulu: Marie Kumabe - Kumabe HR
    Veteran-Owned Small Business of the Year: A veteran-owned small business who has experienced the rewards and difficulties of owning their own business.
    • State of Hawaii Hideo Simon - Square Barrels
    Women in Business Champion: An individual who has fulfilled a commitment to the advancement of women’s business ownership
    • State of Hawaii: Susan Utsugi – Central Pacific Bank
    • County of Kauai: Brianna Greer – LEI of Kauai
    • County of Hawaii: Aesha Shapiro – Ladies Artisan Market
    About the U.S. Small Business AdministrationThe U.S. Small Business Administration makes the American dream of business ownership a reality. As the only go-to resource and voice for small businesses backed by the strength of the federal government, the SBA empowers entrepreneurs and small business owners with the resources and support they need to start, grow or expand their businesses, or recover from a declared disaster. It delivers services through an extensive network of SBA field offices and partnerships with public and private organizations. To learn more, visit www.sba.gov.
    • Hawaii-Water-Service-2003_6.21.jpg-w722.png
    • HCFCU_Auto-Loan_KKCC_520x720-May-2022_Final.jpg
    • Goodfellow-Bros-Marketplace-Ad-Big-Island-2021.jpg
    • KTA-2020ChamberOfCommerceDirectoryAd-w483.png
    • Waikoloa-Plaza-10.2021.jpg
    • ALTRES-Ad_1300x1300_final-Blue.jpg
    • Bank-of-Hawaii-Refi-6.2021.jpg
    • Pacific-Waste23yr-12.30.20.png
    • HE-Energy-Power-to-Save-Guide.png
    • Blk-n-Wht-Plumbing-8.2.21.jpg
    • BICC-red_120121.jpg
    • ProService-Hawaii_Kona-Kohala-Members-Marketplace-5.26.21.png
    • Barnett-2022-10.22.21-SQ(1).jpg
    • P-S-Plumbing-PSman-7.28.21.png
    • RES-10.2021.jpg
    • Keauhou-Shopping-Center-MM_3.2022.jpg
    • Kona-Commons-Dresses-2022-MM.png
    • Fairmont-Orchid_Sunday_Brunch_v2.jpg-1.12.22.jpg
    • Cyanotech-Ohana-11.3.21.jpg
    • Southwest-The-Source2022-SQ.png
    • WHCHC-2022--MaskedProvider-SQ.png